City Elections

​​​The City of Taylor is a "Council / City Manager" form of government. Council members are elected by the citizens and registered voters of Taylor. The City is governed by members under a Single Member District form of government and divided into 4 Districts and has 1 Council representative from each, as well as a council member elected at large. Council terms are 3 years and staggered with elections held in May. The Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem are elected every year from within the Council members themselves and serve a 1-year term in these positions.

The City of Taylor City Council have adopted Resolution R20-04 calling for a General Election to be held on May 2, 2020 to elect a Council Member At-Large, and Resolution R20-05 calling for a General Election to be held on May 2, 2020 to amend the City's Charter.  Qualified residents may pick up a candidate packet at any time at City Hall, or click here for an electronic printable version. 

A completed and notarized Application for a Place on the City of Taylor General Election Ballot must be filed in the City Clerk’s office, 400 Porter Street, between the dates of January 15, 2020 and February 14, 2020.  No application will be accepted after 5:00p.m. on February 14, 2020.  

Deadline for filing a Declaration of Write-In Candidate is February 18, 2020.

                    Election Day: Saturday, May 2, 2020
                             Council Member At-Large
                                 Charter Amendments
              Early Voting Polling Location:  Taylor City Hall Auditorium
                                                                  400 Porter Street  


                                 Drawing for name placement on the ballot



View District
 Map   View Eligibility Requirements for Public Office

Important 2020 Election Dates

Where can I find the detailed election results from the previous year?

Results are available at the Williamson County Elections website .  

When do the results become final?

Results are not final and candidates do not take office until after the votes have been officially canvassed by the governmental authority.  The City Council will hold a Special Meeting on Tuesday, May 12th at 6 pm in the Council Chambers to declare the results, swear in the elected, and the Council members will elect a Mayor and Mayor Pro-Tem from within their own ranks.

Additional Information

If you have any questions, please contact the City Clerk. Additional helpful sites for election information may be found on the following websites:

Other Elections

Visit the County website for complete list of all County polling locations and election results:

  1. Dianna Barker

    City Clerk
    Phone: 512-352-3676